A new Illinois law increases the fee amounts for employers ordered to pay unpaid wages to employees. See Pub. Act 098-0527 (eff. Jan. 1, 2014) (amending 820 ILCS 115/14). The Illinois Wage Payment and Collections Act has been amended to modify the calculation of the non-waivable administrative fee amount that an employer is required to pay when ordered by the Department of Labor or a court to pay unpaid wages or other compensation to an employee. Replacing the previous flat fee, this administrative fee will now be determined by the amount that the employer is ordered to pay. If the amount ordered is $3,000 or less, the fee will be $250. If the amount ordered exceeds $3,000, but is less than $10,000, the fee will be $500. For employers ordered to pay amounts of $10,000 or more, the required fee will be $1,000.
Call us today to verify whether your employment practices comply with Illinois and federal wage-and-hour laws and regulations.
If you liked this post, follow us on Facebook and Twitter sign up for our monthly newsletter using the form in the sidebar. And be sure to read the Disclaimer.